The Anglican Diocese of Bendigo provides ministry and pastoral care to regional communities across central, north-west Victoria and the western side of the Goulburn Valley, including Bendigo itself.

The diocese is working to strengthen and grow the mission and ministry of the Anglican Church; we are committed to serving in local communities and working in partnership with other churches and organisations. Leadership, relationships and ministry are at the heart of our strategy with people our primary concern.

The diocese is approximately 65,000 square kilometres, and covers a large part of rural Victoria, stretching from Woodend in the Macedon Ranges, through the Wimmera and up the Mallee to Mildura, as well as extending to Tatura and Mooroopna and parts of the Goulburn Valley. The diocese has around 32 parishes, with over 40 clergy working on the ground to provide ministry and care.

The Diocese of Bendigo was created under the New Dioceses Act 1901 of the Synod of the Diocese of Melbourne, passed on 3 October 1901. The Diocese of Bendigo was formed in 1902 by a subdivision of territory from the Diocese of Melbourne, with the first bishop, Henry Archdall Langley, being enthroned on 5 March 1902.

In 1977 the Diocese of Bendigo amalgamated with the Diocese of St Arnaud, encompassing the gold mining towns of Avoca, Dunolly, Wedderburn, St Arnaud and Maryborough and the Mallee area of Victoria.

Our Diocesan Prayer
Generous God,
we thank you for the Diocese of Bendigo,
the beautiful mountains, hills, plains and
native forests that is our environment.

Bless the cities, towns and rural areas,
the parishes and congregations
in which we live and serve.

Give us vision, energy and hope
to be a Missionary Church.

By the Spirit’s gifts, equip us
to live the Gospel of Christ
and make us eager to do your will,
that we may share the joys of the whole creation.

We make our prayer
through Jesus Christ your Son, our Lord.